Growlygracepress's Blog


graphics on covers
December 20, 2011, 5:00 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I really admire the bookbinders who can do whole pictures on to book covers, you know the ones where there is a gizillion little bits of leather all beautifully pared and coloured and no bumps and ridges. I have never ever seen an estimation of how long it takes or how the book’s leather cover was kept “open”. In the few attempts where I have tried to do it I have become absolutely deranged it always ends in tears and the I end up trashing the leather though I save the book and repurpose it.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I have been bookbinding for a few years with paper and cloth, and have been experimenting with leather recently. I have trashed everything I have made so far! I like leather, and am in awe of those who have mastered it. Don’t give up! I will try again when I am not so hacked off with it!

Comment by lestaret




Leave a Reply

