Growlygracepress's Blog


One sheet at a time.
February 26, 2012, 5:27 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

Cheryl sent me this article http://www.nytimes.com/2012/02/19/magazine/timothy-barrett-papermaker.html?_r=3&pagewanted=1&ref=magazine

My new thought on bookbinding is “books are vessels” they are simple containers, as objects they are required to protect the contents from harm. We achieve this by ensuring that the methods of construction are sound and the materials are the best we can source. And we don’t lie or embellish or talk it up.  I should be “I make books like this, do you want to buy one?”

There is too much trying to keep the client happy, trying to second guess them, when it should be “Do you want me to make this book for you or not?” We are keep saying “YES I CAN” when what is really required is “NO I AM NOT GOING TO DO THAT”

I think what my ideal business model would be I get up in the morning and go to my bench and bind books that people are waiting to buy directly from me ideally I’ll have a long waiting list and I bash out the books and go to my list and contact the names at the top and say “it’s your lucky day your book is ready” and I’ll get a cheque.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

