Growlygracepress's Blog


Positively evangelical about bookbinding 2
June 24, 2013, 3:17 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

I never take notes about what I am going to say at a workshop so generally it follows the same pattern.
I have a small pile of artist books, private press, zines, comics and assorted publications and I take each one and discuss what I like or dislike about it. I think it’s important to say why I think a particular book sucks, I did it once and a girly nearly cried. One of the reason I became attracted to bookbinding is the whole business of judging a book by it’s cover. I believe in value judgments and I have good values.
I will always state that I am a bit up and down about a lot of book arts stuff and I will have examples of books that I consider to be absolutely beautiful and I will list all the reasons why they float my particular boat.

I always wave this book around.

DSCF5206

It’s a great book, it’s has lovely examples, good bookbinding techniques, a great history of artist books and these pages are worth the price alone

DSCF5207

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

