Growlygracepress's Blog


Making books for artists.
September 22, 2013, 8:05 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

P1010971

It’s a privilege to bind books for artists. Artists give the best commissions and they really care about the book they get it that the book is an “exhibition” artists have no problem about being good to themselves.

I like artists they make me laugh.

I started working with artists because I was making books that had titles that I thought were interesting or just down right funny and it kind of grew from there.

I started to make a series of books for Tracey that were going to be in an exhibition and I gave her the folded sections / signatures and she drew in them and I sewed them up and bound them as books. That little sentence is the “money shot” “I gave her the folded sections / signatures and she drew in them and I sewed them up and bound them as books”
As a transaction it’s a bit good.

The artist is able to control the contents and the order of the book.

I just gave Tracey a paper she could draw on and I missed a massive trick. I could have given her different types of paper….

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

