Growlygracepress's Blog


I will not suffer a rinky dink press
December 18, 2013, 1:58 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

DSCF5790

This is my bookbinding press and it’s dog ugly it’s quite the nastiest bit of equipment I own it’s also the most effective. I couldn’t possibly be doing the Laura Ashley smock wearing bookbinding with this press on the bench.

It’s living beating heart is a car jack form Halfords. They cost £15.99.

DSCF5793

It’s got two slabs of marine ply, four lengths of threaded bar, washers, nuts, and wing nuts.

DSCF5792

It’s got a little bit of plate to receive the hydraulic press.

DSCF5794

I could have made it a little bit pretty with some varnish and I could have put some bracing on the top.

But it works really good. I would think of replacing it with a beauty boy.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Oh it is a brute … but a little to much for my lino cuts. 🙂

Comment by helen1950




Leave a Reply

