Growlygracepress's Blog


going up westgate hill road.
December 22, 2013, 9:48 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

clamps

I used to run a bookbinding workshop for students in the first week in January and around about this time I would walk up Westgate Hill Road to the timber merchants and buy wood and I would buy screws, washers and nuts and I would make these clamps.
The only thing I actually care about in doing workshops is that the people who attend actually walk away with enough tools, materials and working knowledge in order for them to make progress in bookbinding.
I presses allow the for the book to be glued, scrimed and a layer of kraft paper to be applies to the spine.

P1020650

This is from a class a few years ago.

At this time of the year Westgate Hill is the coldest place possibly in the world and it can be bleak and miserable. I go pass the saw doctors where I used to take my guillotine blade to get sharped, the Greggs seconds shop which sells yesterdays bread and pies and I was once a grateful customer and on to the timber merchants who are incredibly helpful and accommodating.

I am not doing the workshop in January but I am burning to do the pilgrimage. I may just have to create a new press and have some pressing boards cut just to touch base.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Thinking of you … and also commend the art of good customer service and those who give customers a good shopping experience even on a cold winter’s day xx

Comment by helen1950




Leave a Reply

