Growlygracepress's Blog


that post about the louet awl gauge with the photographs all fixed up.
March 25, 2014, 2:14 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Sometimes I come across a tool that is just a joy to use. It does the job it has been made for with such deft and you get a real buzz from using it.

DSCF5903

This is the Louet awl gauge. It’s available for the good people at Shepherds and the link is to the left. Under Materials.

There is many kinds of bookbinding going on, I make books with blank pages as opposed to some one involved in book repair or conservation where they are going to resew the book using the original sewing stations.

DSCF5904

On the other hand I am making a book with new paper. So I want to make the holes for the sewing and tapes in each signature before I sew it up.

DSCF5906

Previously I would stick the book block in the lying press use an engineer’s square to mark the spine up and then I would use a small hand saw to cut the book. I used a small saw and a light touch. If I am working on a big series of books they would have been sawn.

DSCF5907

Adjust the the screw until you get the measurements right and then mark the holes you will pierce and enjoy the experience.

DSCF5909

Yes it’s an expensive tool but you will never regret buying it. If you use it in a teaching session students who have never book bound before take it like a duck to water. I’ve had students come in the next day and say they bought one.

DSCF5911

If you do buy one buy the awl that was designed to use for it yes it’s expensive as well but it’s nice in the hand.

DSCF5908
All our tools should be this good.

I use a pencil to label the hole I need to pierce and I should have used a bit of tape.

DSCF5911

This is the ‘gutter’

DSCF5912
Go on you know you want one.

DSCF5904

If I was the Louet people in The Netherlands I would seriously think of changing it’s name to something like to “miracle bookbinding tool”.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love this Awl Gauge! I work with bookbinding and was looking for something that professional. Would you mind sharing the price? And do you know what kind of wood was used?
Thank you for the good pictures 😉

Comment by Aleph Ozuas

Thank you very much 🙂

Comment by Aleph Ozuas




Leave a Reply

