Growlygracepress's Blog


‘Cockerell’s remarkable handbook’
May 14, 2014, 10:35 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

DSCF6071

Sybil Pye taught herself bookbinding from ‘Bookbinding and the Care of Books’ by Douglas Cockerell first published in 1901.

I have just bought a new edition of it mainly because my copy is a stinky and nasty edition printed during the second world war it’s horrid and is going in the bin as soon as I find it. Death to Books!

I am going to submerge myself in my new edition.

I am going to think about how I can bind a book which is the polar opposite to the kind of book I am making now.

How would I recognise it?

What qualities would it exhibit that my current style doesn’t have?

Would I like it?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

