Growlygracepress's Blog


Strengthening the spine.
May 16, 2014, 7:54 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

DSCF6072

My responsibility in making a book is to strengthen the weaknesses that are caused by the materials and construction techniques. I do this by using the most appropriate materials for the job, materials that have not been messed around with by which I mean unbleached canvas and linen.

I build up strength in the spine by layering it with scrim, kraft paper, canvas or leather. Sometimes I have repeatedly add layers of pva.

I am developing my techniques and methods of producing ten books at a time. I think I would benefit from a press that will allow me to work on the spines or I could colour and burnish the edges.

So I went off to buy some wood to make a glueing press and I also bought a big pile of pressing boards as well. Today I am going to go on a trek to buy the threaded bar to hold the whole thing together.

One of the most useful things you can have in bookbinding is stacks of pressing boards and stacks of metal sheets.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

