Growlygracepress's Blog


Thomas Bewick and me. It’s complicated.
August 12, 2014, 8:31 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

20140812-082939-30579339.jpg

I had always wanted a printing press and when I finally decided that I really should get one I had to face up to the problem with what I was going to do with it. I knew that I was not going to print business cards, wedding invitations or posters and I don’t like wooden type.
I have such a problem with spelling that I would qualify for disability. So that rules out playing with typography.
What I decided to do was to get photopolymer blocks of Thomas Bewick engravings and print them for my own amusement. I would have carrier bags filled with them every so often I would fling them out and I would print more of them and have more bags of them. I have finally decided to leave little piles of Bewicks at the library or the craft shop.
But I had such a complex relationship with him and I would fall in and out of love with him. Me and Tom have been a bit cool lately.
I recently went to a study morning on Thomas Bewick vignettes and I am head over heels in love again.
I am engrossed in reading “The Art of Thomas Bewick” by Diana Donald and I found this little print to be greatly moving. One of my problems with Bewick is that some of his engravings show the realities of country life. Puppies get drowned. Tinned dog food has not been invented and people starved to death. Reality.
Some of the vignettes don’t print well there is just too much going on. I had a wonderful block of a pig in a sty with all her piglets but it was just far too busy. Besides Grace found it and had a bite of it.
I would dearly love to print this one but I feel that it’s just too much. But I think I have a solution and that is to do it as a screen print and make it massive. I would try for A2 maybe go for 25 copies. I don’t know what to do with the other 24.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

