Growlygracepress's Blog


I choose to build sheds.

DSCF5929

“I choose to build a shed. I choose to build a shed in this season and do the other things, not because they are easy, but because they are hard, because that goal will serve to organize and measure the best of my energies and skills, because that challenge is one that I am willing to accept, one I am unwilling to postpone, and one which I intend to win, and the others, too.”

I had to build a shed and my heart would skip a beat as I finished the bookbinding and I would race down to the allotment and work on my shed I was really excited by the process of making something so big and uncompromising, this was not a little book in my hands this was something that if I got it wrong could cause me serious injury. My bones could break.

Yesterday an old allotment man laughed at it and told me it was a waste of shed felt. I agreed with him totally and explained that I was interested in learning how not to make a shed and I considered myself well taught further more when I remake the new shed in the late Autumn I will be stronger. I pointed out to him that I was also teaching myself everything I am going to learn about erecting a greenhouse by getting this one wrong and I own all this knowledge myself and I am indebted to no one.

I don’t have a cement mixer and I don’t to negotiate involvement with some one who does. I want no chains of obligations.

I built a structure that will contain my tools and materials and keep them secure and dry. I am totally responsible for it.
The shed felt cost £15 and nails and screws cost £15.
Priceless.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

