Growlygracepress's Blog


tending my garden
August 6, 2015, 10:26 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

DSCF6733

I feel quite sad for people who fail to continuously grow vegetables in their plots. I lifted the shallots, feed the soil, hoed it and planted new stuff and as we get closer to winter I planted beetroot, leeks and kale.
I am still planting seeds and beans. I worry about not having enough cauliflowers, I have too much cabbages and because I didn’t put labels on some seedlings I might have either monster tree cabbages or Brussels sprouts in the wrong bed. I see the need for allotment maps. Here be dwarf broad beans. How could you not love a variety of broad bean called ‘The Sutton’?
One of the things I got right was the random planting of a single row of vegetables in 1.2 meter beds. So you get a couple of dinners worth and in a couple of weeks later another row will be eaten.
You forget sometimes that the purpose is to actually eat the stuff and not to keep it growing.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

