Growlygracepress's Blog


Clarity and Vision are our true friends
September 10, 2015, 10:00 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

DSCF4674

When I am engaged in commissioned work I seldom notice the mess that builds up around me but in times of no work I surround my self with unfinished and barely begun projects and the ghosts of books that are still born and they stack up on each other and then I have to get stuck in and take them to the bin.
Sometimes I don’t even recognise them. I have destroyed far more than I have created.
I think that ‘Creativity’ and ‘Originality’ are the kin of Kipling’s Triumph and Disaster impostors. What I want is the discipline to finish the task.
I would also like to be able to experiment more. A mistake I constantly make is thinking I need to make a whole book fully covered in leather in order to ‘work’ on a technique where what I should be doing is creating a protocol where I can test my techniques and understand precisely why I believe why it has failed and what I need to do in order to ensure that I can see improvement.
I am clearing up my work area and doing quick autopsies on dead books and saying quick prayers for them.
Then I am going to write up what I am going to do with Clarity and Vision.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

