Growlygracepress's Blog


the beautiful tools

S0026912

At the minute I am making ten books. I am making ten of them because when I made one of them I got it wrong and when I tried again to make it I got it wrong again. This is because my thinking was flawed and unclear. By making ten of them I am seriously underlining the mission. It’s not enough to make one. Make ten and be better and as the books come together you see ways they can be improved, how materials can be replaced with lighter weighted materials that will function better.

If you are making ten little books you can take short cuts, the first one is I use a saw to make the cut for the sewing stations, to save time I saw cut the block complete with endpapers.
This is my new saw.

S0036913

Along with the saw I bought this stunner.

S0026912

This is a brush for cleaning a file. Utter genius. I am bevelling the edges of my boards. I make up my boards with layers of grey board,  handmade paper and finish with a top layer of mill board I then bevel the edges, round the corners and sand them down.

To keep my strength up I had some chicken soup.

S0016911

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

