Growlygracepress's Blog


binding books and growing melons and walking up westgate road.
June 23, 2016, 8:14 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

P1020039

I have been working very hard on creating the new allotment that I have stopped binding books. I did not have any commissioned work and in my head I had solved the problems I had developed but have not actually implemented the solution. On my bench I have twenty books. Ten need a cover and the other ten need their boards.

Then I have to prove my theory of putting the letters on correctly in the centre of the boards.

S0016957

These hinnys are all over the shop. Except the perfect one.

For the past couple of months I have had feeling of unease and a sense of lost. I could not quite put my finger on it and suddenly I realised that I was desperately missing the physicality of the making and creating a object and apply critical analysis.

Is this book a success?

On the allotment it’s different I am trying work effectively and with purpose while growing an insane amount of celery. Every day is a learning day and the biggest thing I learnt is if their is a tray of seedlings put multiple plant labels on them. I lost lots of labels and have a bed of brassicas that could be anything. They will make themselves know. I have seen a tiny button of cauliflower which always makes me swoon.

The other thing is that I am very guilty of not potting things on and the poor plants got pot bound and their roots were going around in circles. Sometime my ‘ideas’ get pot bound and they need re-potting with another helping of grub so they will grow strong and vigorous.

The good thing that’s going to happen is I have some teaching next week and I am going to go up Westgate Hill Road to buy some wood to make clamps and this is my favourite thing.

Right the most time effective thing I can do right now is to go to the supermarket. Then I am going to correct the latest mistake I have made. I have planted two grafted melon plants in to tomato grow bags but I need to take them out and put a bottomless pot on top fill it with compost and put the melons back in.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

