Growlygracepress's Blog


On being judged.
August 29, 2016, 7:47 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

S0096635

I did enter the flower and vegetable show and I won the first prize in the two classes that I felt I had a good chance of success because I had very strong contenders. I won the bouquet of summer flowers and I won in the group of three vegetables where you have to show two of each vegetables.

I stuck in a cucumber and some beetroot under no illusion that they were going to do anything and I did enter the three dressed onions from seed just to experience the dressing of onions.

I was really happy about the flowers winning as I have been bring back little bunches of flowers all summer and I have them in little vases in the kitchen and on my bench. I did enjoy making a cutting garden but I am going renovate it, replace all broken woodwork, repaint all the rusted metal and replace the green netting with black and then I will have an incredible fruit cage. I’ve been buying up all the £2 fruit plants at Morrisons in a couple of years time they will be big and strong.

DSCF7047

This week I am going to clear the vegetables that are ‘over’ and plant the vegetables for next spring. Because the garden is full of a horrible thing called ‘club root’ I will be planing out stuff in compost filled pots just to see how they manage. The vile ‘club root’ only attacks brassicas it can be treated by applying lime but it’s going to take many years.

I am going to buy even more seeds with the prize money!

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

