Growlygracepress's Blog


Crafting craft for craft shops while trying to maintain integrity.
December 12, 2016, 8:49 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

DSCF6205

So I’ve been sacked at the craft shop. Again. What this means is the books that they had left were never going to sell because the price is wrong,  because as ‘objects’ they were deteriorating by being on display and I thought on a couple of them the work wasn’t my best. Everyone was absolutely lovely to me and very, very encouraging and they were really happy with my new work. We talked about the ‘mark up’ and they are absolutely right  but the reality for me is that I have spent the last year working with new tools, changing techniques and methods to make small books that I believe to be attractive to a buyer in a craft shop only to discover that I will get about £12 per book. The reality of this dawned on me about three months ago and it does not make me a bad person I have not wasted my time at the bench. This is just feedback.

The techniques I developed are still valid. Another way to run the experiment is to make a book that will be desirable to the buyer and will sell at the highest price, probably sold ‘on line’ and probably ‘personalised’ and probably very, very niche.

I decided not to put new books in the craft shop because both the book and me should have a better out come and I will change my mind and go back to the craft shop with the books because it’s better to get some worth out of them.

I am going to have a couple of days at my bench and I am going to make books that are compromised in that they are not bound in leather but in cloth, their spines are flat and not round, that there spines are clothed in kraft paper and not scrim, kraft, goatskin, that they are in a case and not account book, and they are decorated with cut out book cloth and not finely parred goatskin.

What ever happens I win.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

