Growlygracepress's Blog


I believe in the creative forces of destruction.
February 28, 2017, 9:36 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

dscf7160

These are not your granddad’s bookbinding tools. They are on the bench so I could take the photo. I used them last week and had an great time. I wake every morning and address a problem and the one that I wanted to solve last week had been intractable for ages.

I have an upholstered arm chair in the living room that is not used for sitting in and it’s primary purpose is as a crap magnate. At any one time it would be holding many hats, coats, copies of the previous week’s Sunday Times, lunch boxes, books and just stuff. It had to go but it won’t fit in the car and I would have to move many hundreds of books to get it out the door only for the council to take a month to move it and charge me at least £25.

So I decided to take it apart in situ and get it in to car boot size chunks. I got the tools from the allotment shed and put on Radio 4 to listen to the ten past eight interview and went to work I broke of to return to the shed to get another tool and worked cooly and methodically in taking to chair apart. I finished the dissection at 12.30

It was an exhilaration.

I’ve got a difficult relationship with bookbinding at the moment. The work area is still in uproar, eighteen months spent improving techniques and methods brought around the unintentional consequence of slashing my retail prices to the point of not covering my materials costs. I am giving serious consideration of just making garden note books and saying I am going to make a couple of dozen a year stop me and buy one in esty or what ever it’s called.

Anyway back to the slaughter of the arm chair. I cut away all the layers put all the stuffing in to bin bags and hoovered up the work area several times, got the chair down to it’s wooden frame and got all the springs and metal out and then used the saw to get in to parts after that I used the crowbar very gently to break it down some more.

It would have been easy to get stuck in and smash it up but I took my time and had an enjoyable experience in engaging with fabrication, appreciating the strengths and weaknesses.

Sometimes destruction is a force of good.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

